Out of the mouths of babes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the summer holidays! I absolutely love them! This is the time when I have my holiday camps for the kids. Every year the kids amaze me! Every year I feel that there is still so much we can do for our kids who have the most amazing minds. There has been so much potential just waiting to be used.

This year, the theme for our Chutti Power Summer fun was “Expressions”. This was especially for kids between the ages of 5 to 11. We encouraged the kids to express themselves through art, dance, drama and creative writing.

Yesterday, we were creating characters in our creative writing session.

I introduced the children to the words “protagonist” and “antagonist”. Before telling them what it meant, I asked them what they thought it meant. The answers were varied.

“It means a person who eats a lot of protein!” Said a little 5 year old.

“I think it means someone who is powerful, like Iron Man,” said another.

“I think it sounds like a mixture of a protractor and an injection” said a third.

It was amazing how they all seemed to link the “P” in the spelling of protagonist to something that started with a “P” – protein, power, protractor.

After explaining who a protagonist is, I asked them to think of someone they would like to create as a protagonist in their story.

The questions were immediate. “Does it have to be a human being?” “Can it be an alien?” “Can it be a monster?” “Can it be an animal?” “Can it be an imaginary creature?”

But the best question was from a little boy named Armesh. He asked, “Don’t you think we should create the antagonist first?”

“Why?” I asked him.

“Because the antagonist causes the problem and the protagonist supplies the solution. The antagonist is the fever and the protagonist is the medicine, the Crocin.”

Oh how I love my summer camps!

About Sunita Saldhana

I am a published poet and writer. I have been writing since the age of 13. I am now a “retired mom” with both my kids having flown from the nest and I now concentrate on my writing. I have worked as a corporate trainer and now conduct various courses for kids on developing reading skills, creative writing, speaking with confidence and other Life Skills. I am a voracious reader and love reviewing books as well.

Posted on May 9, 2013, in Learning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Tejasi Shivade

    So innocent are the replies…very creative process of teaching at that age.

Leave a Reply

