The writer in me, the writer in you!

Ever since I can remember, I have been fascinated with stories, all kinds of stories. It didn’t matter whether it was a short story or a novel or a poem. I can still remember my mother reading out the poem, “The evening is coming “out of this big colourful book that she had. As she read, the pictures in the book came to life and I was transported into another beautiful world.

As I grew, I became fascinated by how the stories evolved. I wondered: How did the author think of creating this character? Did he or she dream the story? How did he see the place in his mind’s eye? How did he or she know what would happen next in the story?  How could he or she make the story come alive for so many people? Can I also do the same?

It was the book “Little Women” which finally made me start writing. I so fell in love with Jo and so totally related to her character that in my mind we were the same and so writing was something I just had to do.

I still remember the first poem I wrote. I was just 12 then and I wrote a poem for my little sister who was just two. To my surprise, everyone liked it and praised it. And I was addicted!

Being a writer is not difficult at all. In fact it is a lot of fun. All you need to do is to let go of your fear. Let go of your fears about whether you can write or not. Let go of your fear of what people will say. Just let go and write!

Write for yourself! Write what you like! Write from your heart! It’s okay to write silly stuff and make mistakes, you will get better, but only if you keep writing. Today I squirm at the first few poems I wrote.  Even the little seven year olds who come to my creative writing class write better than that!

But that was just the start and I have grown and so will you.  So just pick up a pen and write.

And for all of you who want to write that poem, that story that is in your heart and has to be expressed, and don’t know where to start, here is a lovely learning vacation in a lovely location. Check out the residential Creative Writing Power Camp being held by Shiksha Power at Igatpuri on the 24th, 25th and 26th of May, 2013.

We taught ourselves to teach to write so that you can learn too! And for a teensy summer vacation out of the hot city, why not?

About Sunita Saldhana

I am a published poet and writer. I have been writing since the age of 13. I am now a “retired mom” with both my kids having flown from the nest and I now concentrate on my writing. I have worked as a corporate trainer and now conduct various courses for kids on developing reading skills, creative writing, speaking with confidence and other Life Skills. I am a voracious reader and love reviewing books as well.

Posted on May 11, 2013, in Learning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

